Healthy Living Pittsburgh

Keeping the Steel City Healthy!

Pregnancy and Exercise: What’s Safe?

1 Comment

Fitness Now

Safe Exercise During PregnancyWhen I became pregnant with my first son, I was working in a gym, running regularly, and teaching 4-5 group fitness classes a week. I couldn’t wait for my first doctor’s appointment to find out if this was ok, so I called the office to speak with a nurse.

I explained my current workout routine, “Is this safe?”

Her answer, “Keep doing what you’re doing, and if the next day you feel like you did too much, you probably did…so cut back next time.”

That’s it? No guidelines on minutes, heart rate, or activities?!? Although I felt hesitant, in the end I realized that my personal instinct, listening to my body, is the best guide

Here are some of the changes that can affect your workouts during pregnancy:

View original post 546 more words

One thought on “Pregnancy and Exercise: What’s Safe?

  1. It’s important to get plenty of exercise and physical activity during pregnancy. But make sure do it in moderation! Nice post!

Leave a Reply

